Uncharacteristically Pink

by getfilmy

Seriously folks, I have buttermilk fatigue.

But! I present to you Buttermilk Case Files No.2 (what was No.1?): Berry Glazed Buttermilk Cookies . Isn’t she pretty?

First though….I got totally distracted by a peanut butter chocolate filling that I made accidentally on purpose.

I thought I would sandwich these cookies with the filling. It didn’t work out. I know it looks like it might work out, but it won’t. Trust me. Don’t worry though, I have better plans for that filling.

But back to the beginning – first you make the dough. And then you take a picture of the scraped-out batter bowl because you can obviously never have enough pictures of scraped-out batter bowls. (I think I’m obsessed, but aren’t they beautiful in a forlorn sort of way?)

Then you gloat over the perfect even-sized rounds of dough you finally, finally, finally learned how to make. It’s taken….let’s just say it’s taken many bowls of dough and futzing around with tablespoon measures and spatulas.

Then, cookies! A tumble of them! Baking is magic!

Have to take that warm bite. You can also never have enough photos of half-bitten cookies.

Then – a pause. The chocolate filling didn’t work with these. So what next? The original recipe called for a buttermilk glaze. But since I just did a white icing on white cake a few days ago, I had to go for something different.

Then I had a brain-burp (slightly, but not much more elegant than a brain-fart), and thought Berry Glaze. Thawed frozen berry juice can be a real life saver. Don’t underestimate it.

I had much fun with my little piggy whisk because the glaze matched him so perfectly.

And he looks like maybe he wants to dive into that bowl of pink glaze (as would I)….

…..but is kind of petrified by it at the same time (I would be too).

Finally I let him off the hook and got busy glazing.

Totally imperfect glazing, but that’s alright.

The girly-girl in me was squee-ing  over the pretty pink. No food coloring in this, people. None.

Speaking of pretty in pink (and squeeing), this whole experience made me feel much girlier than I really am. These had me dreaming of matching pink tea sets and a feeling I should be wearing a tutu and ballerina slippers. And maybe inviting the whole cast of Glee over while I’m at it.

But luckily I got back to my senses by watching back-to-back episodes of Entourage instead and made a plan for the peanut butter chocolate filling I abandoned earlier.

This plan may or may not involve Pop Tarts. Stay tuned.

But for now….

Berry Glazed Buttermilk Cookies

Adapted from Gourmet

Because I originally wanted to pair these with chocolate, I left out the lemon zest that is in the original recipe. Internet research (my favorite kind) led me to Orangette’s post on these cookies, where she recommends halving the recipe and upping the lemon zest to a teaspoon. I would do the same. The lemon zest would compliment the berry glaze swimmingly. (Swimmingly is my new favorite word for pretending I’m British).

I happened to have thawed frozen berries in my fridge, but you can easily use a good berry juice, or thin out about a teaspoon of your favorite jam with a little water, vanilla extract or lemon juice. You basically need two teaspoons of berry juice/jam/liquid for a half cup of icing sugar.

Ingredients

Cookies

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon lemon zest

6 tablespoons butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg, room temperature

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup buttermilk

Berry Glaze

2 teaspoons liquid from thawed frozen mixed berries

1/2 cup icing sugar

Method

Line a large baking sheet with parchment. Preheat the oven to 350.

Whisk the flour, baking soda, lemon zest and salt together in a medium bowl and set aside.

Using the paddle attachment on a stand mixer (or a handheld electric mixer), beat the butter and sugar on medium-low speed until pale and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until well-incorporated.

With the mixer on low, add 1/3 of the flour and then1/2 of the buttermilk, beating just until the dough comes together each time. Repeat until all the flour is used up. You should have a smooth dough, but do not overmix.

Drop tablespoon-sized balls of dough onto the baking sheet about 1.5 inches apart. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack. Cool completely before glazing.

To make the glaze, whisk the icing sugar together with the berry liquid until you have a smooth paste. Using a small spoon or spatula, glaze the cookies with about 1/2 a teaspoon of glaze per cookie.

Makes 24 squee-worthy cookies.