Made For Each Other

by getfilmy

Dudes! Did you know that if you melt chocolate together with peanut butter over a double boiler you will want to bottle it up like face cream and apply it to your face forever and ever till the sun combusts and the world explodes?

Did you?

I mean peanut butter and chocolate are like soul mates or something right? So when you apply heat and let them get all warm and cozy and melty together the result of all that love-making is a fluffy creamy peanut butter chocolate baby that is further proof that love makes the world go round.

Love and this peanut butter chocolate filling. I am convinced.

So here’s how the whole peanut butter chocolate trajectory happened in my head. Further from a couple of posts ago, I was on the buttermilk prowl.

Happily I came across this recipe for Orange Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Cookies (sounds great, right?) at this totally gorgeous website called Raspberri Cupcakes. I thought that was an awesome idea but seeing as how I had just made chocolate chip cookies a few days ago (there’s only so much a girl can take), I wanted to make something different.

So I clicked back to the original recipe over here and found plain buttermilk cookies that I decided I wanted to sandwich with chocolate.

Immediately the synapses or whatever in my brain picked up on a get-off-the-planet delicious memory of making a Peanut Butter Fudge Sauce which is crazy ridiculous on ice cream.

I mean you will die and end up in instant nirvana when you taste that. All your karma will be cancelled, the angels will sing and you’ll be back in the Garden of Eden. It’s that good.

I said to myself, “If I could turn that sauce into a filling I’m sure it would totally save the world.”

I immediately got busy with my Kitchenaid.

Cookies? Check. Peanut butter chocolate filling? Super-check. World peace? Un-check.

As seen in my last post, the sandwich idea didn’t work out. The sweet cookie was totally overpowering and downright abusing my lovely peanut butter chocolate.

Enter the Pop Tart solution. When in doubt, wrap it in pastry dough.

Especially the easiest, flakiest dough ever. I mean, I know they always tell you not to overwork pastry dough but I was pretty abusive with mine and it still came out super flaky.

Dough scraps. Gotta have them. Bake them. Eat them. Sometimes I even pretend I don’t have enough filling left just so I can bake up the plain pastry.

Did I tell you I’m a carbo-freak? A carbo-freak forever on a low-carb diet?

It’s all about the extremes people. Balance is so last year.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Pop Tarts

Pastry Dough adapted from Joanne Chang

Filling inspired by Nigella Lawson

Boxed pop tarts, much like Oreos and Twizzlers were a hugely anti-climactic let-down for me as far as products from the conveyor belts of industrialized food go. So I was totally stoked (favorite word for pretending I’m a white kid from California) when the blogosphere, which should really be its own nation as far as I’m concerned, came up with home-made versions of all these goodies and got them to taste the way they should taste.

(Well, the case is still out on Twizzlers but if anyone wants to give a homemade version of those a go, I’m all for it. Just please let them taste as red and juicy as they look. No one likes eating plastic. At least I don’t.)

Anyway, these are good, if not particularly innovative. If you have leftover chocolate peanut butter filling, don’t pretend like it’s a problem. You know what to do with it.

Ingredients

Dough:

245 gm all-purpose flour (1 3/4 cups)

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon salt

228 gm butter (2 sticks, stay calm)

2 egg yolks

3 tablespoons cold milk (I used buttermilk)

Filling:

1/3 cup smooth peanut butter

1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 tablespoon Lyle’s golden syrup (or light corn syrup, but it won’t taste as great)

Assembly:

1 egg white, reserved from eggs used in dough

Method

Dough:

Using the paddle attachment of a stand mixer, mix together the flour, salt and sugar on low speed. Add the butter and egg yolks and mix again on low until the flour starts to absorb the yolks and the butter is broken up.

Add the milk. The dough should start to come together in about 45 seconds. If needed, add a little more milk to moisten the dough.

When the machine just starts to resist and the whirring sound starts straining a bit, turn off the mixer. You should have a cohesive dough (i.e., not shaggy bits as is usually advised. I find this is much easier to deal with and you lose none of the flaky factor).

Dump out the dough onto a floured board. Make a mound and then push the mound out with the palm of your hand. Do this a couple of times to create long streaks of butter throughout the dough. Form the dough into 2 rectangles, wrap in cling and refrigerate for at least an hour before using.

Filling:

Place a heat-proof bowl over a pan of barely simmering water. Place peanut butter, chocolate chips and golden syrup in the bowl and allow everything to melt gently until you have a rich, luxurious face cream-like consistency. Allow the filling to cool before using.

Assembly:

Pre-heat the oven to 350.

Remove the dough from the refrigerator. On a lightly floured surface, roll out each half of dough to roughly the size of a gallon-sized Ziploc bag (approximately 11 x 11 inches). In fact, you can even roll the dough inside the bag, but as this dough gets pretty sticky as it warms up, you’ll have to be careful. I find that if the dough starts sticking too much, throwing it back in the fridge for a few minutes makes it easier to work with. At any rate, once you have the dough rolled out, I would recommend putting them in the fridge for a few minutes until they are firm. It will make the assembly much easier.

Cut each sheet of dough into 8 even-sized rectangles, or as even-sized as you can manage. Brush both rectangles with the reserved egg white. (Why waste another egg when the egg white works just as well?)

Place a tablespoon of filling onto half of the dough squares. Place the unfilled squares on top (egg-washed side down) and seal the edges. Prick the top of the pop tarts with a fork, and brush the tops with more egg white.

Once you have them filled and ready, again I would recommend putting them in the fridge before you bake. The colder the butter, the more flakes you’ll get.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the tops are golden brown and puffy.

Makes 8 meant-to-be pop tarts.